Breathe Me

I’ve been dealing with the every day pain in stride. The panic attacks are still there, however I’ve started to chart them and I’ve noticed there’s a pattern as to when they occur. And it’s not often. I’ve developed techniques to keep them at bay. It’s a lot of work, dealing with this illness.

I haven’t been to the Doctor in a while. Partially because I don’t know what she can say or do for me at this point. I know where I am, what I’m dealing with. I know what I have to do.

In a couple of weeks I’m going to restart the oral med Tecfidera. Too much has been going on to have started it again. From 17 losing his grandfather & his emotional fallout, to my own depression/panic attacks that had left me feeling as if I could barely leave the house most of summer and the panic attacks that would ensue when I would drive. Thankfully these I have under control. I’ve got it. I think I do, at least.

However, my eyesight is messy. I’ve been putting off scheduling the appointment to find out why the blurry spots are showing up. I know what it is. They told me as much a few months ago. Optic Neuritis.

The lawyer handling my disability case has disappeared. Somewhat. His secretary told me two months ago that the appeal takes a very long time. Well, no contact in two months is too much of a long time. This week I’ll make the effort to contact them.

Oh but hey, the confession. I was going to get to that point.

This past weekend was my 25th HS reunion. I didn’t go. One major reason was that it was the same night as my husband’s birthday. I know him, and I know that he wouldn’t have wanted to spend his night making small talk with people he didn’t know.

Another? I don’t remember a lot of people. And not for the reason you may think.

This is the part that kills me. What so many don’t realize and understand that comes with having MS. Our memory fades in odd ways. For me, there are people that stand out. Those I had the most contact with. Most of these people are those I went to grade school and junior high with. My memories about them remain strong.

If it comes to those who I had just met in High School, I have less of a chance of remembering who they are/were. Some I remember well. Others I know the faces, or perhaps, just the names. It’s frustrating and confusing. I remember bits and pieces.

And after what happened to me at our 20th I couldn’t put myself through it again.

During my freshman year I had the typical experience. That which you learn where you stand. By sophomore year I hung out mostly with the class ahead of me. I knew many in my class, and by junior year I met a few people who I still adore to this day, a couple of which are my best friends to this day. However, I never felt as if I belonged. And trying to go into this reunion at a time when I’m not at a physically strong point seemed like the wrong thing to do. I didn’t want to let myself down.

This is the hard and sad part of having this illness. Little things that we all take for granted, that we expect every day that we go on, they come at a price for some of us. It’s come at a price for me. I wish I could have gone to my reunion, however the chance that I could put face and name together with so many would have been daunting.

My accomplishments the last few years have been few to inferior compared to theirs. I’ve lived within dealing with this illness and trying to raise my children, handling the day to day, that I don’t expect much more. I try to write. I try to be.

I just won’t be who I thought I’d be nearly 30 years ago. And I just won’t try anymore.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

